Skip to content

Food links, late January edition

Wednesday, January 27, 2010

I’m working on a few recipe posts that I’ll hopefully have done soon, but in the meantime, here’s some interesting links I’ve encountered in the past few weeks:

Alton Brown gives an hour-long seminar at Google (before Thanksgiving, so I’m a little late to the game). There’s a lot of Yay Google! blah blah blah in the first 10 minutes or so, but it is definitely entertaining, and will fill the gaping AB hole in your heart if you don’t have cable like me.

.

-Ellie Krieger, host of Food Network’s Healty Appetite, details how to make sloppy joes and tortilla soup from every day fast food ingredients! Yeah, you read it right. Wow, just wow.

.

Not So Humble Pie blog features a variety of science-themed baked goods. I may be a decent baker, but I am so not dedicated to the art of decorating: Gingerbread scientistsPetri dish cookiesBinary cupcakesand many, many more.

.

Bacon and Cupcake mugs at Cakespy. Not that I need more coffee mugs, but these are totally cute.

.

On pressure cooking at Bitten Blog. This is something that has always intrigued me, I think it would make dried beans, etc. a lot more accessible. I’ve had a few Indian friends who swear by this technique since they cook so many legumes on a regular basis.

.

Knife Skills 101 at CRAFT Blog. Lots of good information and great photos here.

.

.

.

– Thanks to Steve at Tree Lobsters for letting me repost this comic. If you’ve ever met me, you know this is exactly the kind of scientific paper I’d love to write.

Seen any interesting food links around the web lately? Let me know in the comments!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

